Half Birthday

September 10, 2007 at 8:02 pm | Posted in party, Peru, pictures, religion, tourism, travel | 2 Comments

There are two things I remember doing when I was little that seem really silly now (okay there are a lot of things, but I’m going to mention two): one is the way I used to say my age to the quarter of a year; I’m four and three quarters, or five and a quarter. Why do little kids do that? I guess it is because every month counts when you’ve only put a handful behind you. The other is I remember talking with friends about half-birthdays, and mine rolls around in December. I don’t know when these lost their significance, but they definitely were important for a couple of years there.

Do I have a point? Yes (not really). This weekend Tucume celebrated what would be equivalent to its half-birthday. Carlos the fifth from Spain sent a representation of the Virgin Mary to Tucume as a way of saying ‘thank you’ to the indigenous tribes for raping the people of their land and livelihoods. In any case, the Virgin arrived in February, so every year there is a HUGE celebration here in February, basically for the entire month, with lots of games and dancing and drinking and dancing and drinking. NOTE: If you are thinking of coming to visit, and want to visit Lambayeque and my site (as opposed to the typical trip to Machu Picchu), February would be a really cool time to be here. Anyways, we recently celebrated the half year anniversary with, you guessed it, drinking and dancing. What was lacking this time were the hordes of people that apparently show up for the big fiesta in February. I put up some pictures of the daytime and nighttime processions for you to check out.

Something I hope to keep with me always is the Peruvian ability, no matter the time of year, to find a reason to fiesta. When I first heard that there was a week long (as opposed to month-long) party to celebrate the *half* year of a particular event, it brought me back to those kindergarten conversations about half-birthdays and I chuckled at the thought. I’m digging it though, and I can’t wait for the next fiesta. My salsa improves with every baile.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What’s this about small children acknowledging their half bdays? I STILL acknowledge this day- and for your FYI, my half birthday is on Sept 26. I’m expecting a present. Just kidding. Pammy is visiting and we are missing you. Hope all is well. xoxoxoxoxoxo

  2. Danielle:
    I have tried to catch up on the entries I have missed on your blog. I have really enjoyed reading everything. (Just to remind you I was at your grandmother’s 80 b’day in January and we spoke about Costa Rica).
    I cannot tell you (as a family outsider) how proud I am of what you are doing. Keep up the good work! I enjoy MOST the titles on your blog entries – very original and entertaining. Having been to Costa Rica many times and eaten the traditional foods, I can identify with many of your comments.
    Wishing you continued success!
    Michael


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

