The Pacasmayo Marathon

July 8, 2008 at 11:18 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

A capital ‘K’ Kudos to volunteer Steve who organized the Pacasmayo Marathon that went down this weekend. Steve is a business volunteer from my group, Peru 9, and for the last ten months has been working his tail off organizing a series of races that took place over the weekend, including a marathon, half-marathon, 10k and 5k. A bunch of volunteers were there to run the races or to help out, and there were a decent amount of Peruvian participants as well, which was surprising because running isn’t nearly as popular in this country as it is back in the states. I have only run one other race in my life, the 5K Turkey Trot with my little brothers back in 2006. I ran the 10k this time, and it felt SO great to come in and finish strong. I know a 10k is chump change to many people, but it was a big accomplishment for me, I had never run more than four or five miles before and only a handful of times had I even run that far. What a unique experience it was to run with all my friends along these beautiful cliffs overlooking the ocean. It was so fun, in fact, I could almost forget the fact that I was running a race and that I hate running. Three of my friends from Peru 9 and a handful from the other groups ran the full marathon, and to watch them come in was so inspirational. It’s hard to train here; there aren’t real running trails, there are lots of scary stray dogs, there are mototaxis in a hurry who will run you off the road, and for some there is also high altitude to deal with. To run any marathon is a big accomplishment. Here for some reason, it seemed colossal, and I almost exploded with pride as Greg, Wes, and Ali crossed the finish line.

The spirit of the peace corps volunteer was very nearly palpable that Sunday morning, it was one great day among many good ones over my last year here in Peru.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congrats on the 10k! I have a hard time running the streets of NYC – can’t imagine training where you are 🙂

    love love
    Caitlin

  2. Congrats Danielle! I finally found your blog so now you have a new reader.
    Ali’s mom


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

